South Africa ‘Town of the Year’ since 2000

Since 2000, there have been some fantastic South African towns recognised for their beauty, hospitality and activities. Which town has won repeated times? Which province leads the way with the most winners? Let’s dive in to find out…

Here is a list of some South African towns that have been named “Town of the Year” since 2000.

Please note that this is not an exhaustive list, and there may be other towns that have received recognition during this period:

  1. 2000: Stellenbosch, Western Cape
  2. 2001: Knysna, Western Cape
  3. 2002: Worcester, Western Cape
  4. 2003: Knysna, Western Cape
  5. 2004: Beaufort West, Western Cape
  6. 2005: Knysna, Western Cape
  7. 2006: Mossel Bay, Western Cape
  8. 2007: Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
  9. 2008: Knysna, Western Cape
  10. 2009: Wilderness, Western Cape
  11. 2010: Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
  12. 2011: Stellenbosch, Western Cape
  13. 2012: Margate, KwaZulu-Natal
  14. 2013: Margate, KwaZulu-Natal
  15. 2014: Stellenbosch, Western Cape
  16. 2015: Parys, Free State
  17. 2016: Stilbaai, Western Cape
  18. 2017: Hermanus, Western Cape
  19. 2018: Parys, Free State
  20. 2019: Koringberg, Western Cape
  21. 2020: Sabie, Mpumalanga
  22. 2021: Mbombela (Nelspruit), Mpumalanga
  23. 2022: Kroonstad, Free State

These towns were awarded the title of “Town of the Year” by the Kwêla and Rapport television program, which is a popular South African travel show that showcases different towns and their unique qualities.

Find Projects Find Accommodation Find Restaurants Design a trip Join a Roadtrip Choose an Experience

Leave a Reply

Stay in touch

Fill in your email to receive occasional updates from The Expedition Project.
We will never share your address and you can opt-out at any time.

Journey to drive change
Certified Social Enterprise 2021 Top Online Program Innovation in Online Programming